I get no greeter screen. After the upgrade from kubuntu 14.10 to kubuntu 15.04, the new sddm login appear, then, after the login and the first loading bar, a blank black screen with only the active cursor appear, and only the alt+F2 works, even if the little window in the upper side doesn't execute any command. I'm new to Arch Linux and wanted to use the plasma 5 desktop with sddm. Doing hard reboot loads up a screen saying 'kde neon 5.12.3 'with a progress bar but eventually takes me back to a black screen with only mouse cursor visible. The framebuffer is not cleared (systemd log is still on screen) but a working cursor is shown. Starting Plasma 5 from lightdm or directly from command line by issuing startkde works fine. Ask Question Asked 1 month ago. I have just bought a new computer (with an Intel Core i9 10850K CPU, so a Intel UHD Graphics 630 CPGPU). Black screen and cursor in SDDM. Active 1 month ago. With sddm 0.19.0-2 the desktop is not prompted after boot or `# systemctl start sddm`. Startx working fine. If I run sddm as root from console, it gives Code: /usr/bin/xauth: (stdin):1: bad "remove" command line Arch Linux KDE 4.11.2-1: Black screen with mouse cursor Page 1 of 2 (22 posts) 1, 2 • Next Tags: None (comma "," separated) aqua123 Registered Member Posts 10 Karma 0: Arch Linux KDE 4.11.2-1: Black screen with mouse cursor Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:16 pm Hello there, I think this issue might have been posted before. As soon as i did this my screen went black with only mouse cursor visible. Sddm on vt7 create black screen with no blinking cursor on top-left corner. [ 57.653] (--) Log file renamed from "/var/log/Xorg.pid-408.log" to "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" [ 57.654] X.Org X Server 1.19.2 Release Date: 2017-03-02 [ 57.654] X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0 [ 57.654] Build Operating System: Linux 4.9.13-1-lts x86_64 [ 57.654] Current Operating System: Linux dagon 4.9.11-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Feb 19 13:45:52 UTC 2017 x86_64 [ 57.654] Kernel … I am a linux newb.